When you merge duplicate accounts with Active Directory Account Cleanup Wizard, object attributes can be merged, added, moved, and sometimes deleted. Understanding the specific rules and results of merging Active Directory objects and their attributes will help you ensure that the correct attributes are merged into the final active user account.
Important Once the source account's security, e-mail, and other information is copied to the target account, the source account is removed from the system.
The following sections describe the rules and results of merging Active Directory objects and their attributes. You should review the following results and rules before merging Active Directory objects.
Only one of the user accounts in the merge pair can be
If an attribute exists on both the source account and the target account, the following occurs:
If an attribute from the source account is not allowed as an attribute on the target account, that attribute and value are not transferred to the target account.
Related TopicsUnderstanding Merge Operations Reviewing and Modifying Merge Operations