If mailbox-enabled users do not permanently delete a deleted
item, it will be stored on the server for a certain number of days
before it is permanently deleted by Exchange. You can set the
length of the deleted item retention period by either using the
mailbox store defaults or selecting the number of days a deleted
item is kept before it is permanently deleted.
To specify the number of days that deleted items are stored
before they are permanently deleted: