Queue Viewer

Freeze and Unfreeze Messages

Freezing a message is a way to keep a message from leaving a queue. You can freeze an entire queue, or you can freeze individual messages. With the custom message filter, you can also freeze an entire set of messages with similar characteristics. Frozen messages remain in a queue until they are unfrozen.

The following topics are covered in this section:

Tip   To freeze or unfreeze a specific set of messages, right-click on the queue and select Custom Filter.

Important   Freezing messages is an important administrative task in Queue Viewer. Microsoft recommends first freezing a queue, and then freezing the specific messages you want to administrate, whether it be deleting them or enumerating them. See Freezing and Unfreezing Messages for more information.