Managing Exchange Servers

Set Diagnostic Logging Properties

Diagnostic logging levels determine which Exchange events are written to the Windows 2000 application event log. You can set logging levels to provide information with four levels of detail. The logging level determines which events are written to the event log. When Exchange generates an event less than or equal to the logging level, the event is logged.

Events range from significant events (such as application failures), to moderately important events (such as the receipt of messages across a gateway), to events relevant only to debugging. Usually you log only critical events; however, when problems occur, diagnostics logging enables you to change the logging levels to capture more events in greater detail.

To set diagnostic logging:

  1. Start System Manager
    On the Start menu, point to Programs, point to Microsoft Exchange, and then click System Manager.
  2. Navigate to the server container in the console tree.

    System Manager

    1. Administrative Group or Organization
    2. Servers
    3. Server
  3. Right-click the server, and then click Properties.
  4. Click the Diagnostics Logging tab.
  5. To see the current logging levels for a particular service, click a service in the Services list. The available services are IMAP4, Directory Service Access, Information Store, Message Transfer Agent, System Attendant, Site Replication Service, Transport, and Post Office Protocol version 3 (POP3).
  6. To see the logging level for a service category, click a category.
  7. To change the logging level for a service category, click a logging level. The levels are as follows: