Applies to: Exchange Server 2013

Topic Last Modified: 2013-01-11

Use the Set-EventLogLevel cmdlet to set the event log level registry value for the specified category.

For information about the parameter sets in the Syntax section below, see Syntax.


Set-Eventloglevel -Identity <ECIdParameter> -Level <Lowest | Low | Medium | High | Expert> [-Confirm [<SwitchParameter>]] [-WhatIf [<SwitchParameter>]]



This example sets the event log level to High for the MSExchangeTransport\SmtpReceive event logging category on the Exchange server Exchange01.

Run the Get-EventLogLevel cmdlet to retrieve a list of the event categories on your server. For more information, see Get-EventLogLevel.
Copy Code
Set-EventLogLevel -Identity "Exchange01\MSExchangeTransport\SmtpReceive" -Level High

Detailed Description

You need to be assigned permissions before you can run this cmdlet. Although all parameters for this cmdlet are listed in this topic, you may not have access to some parameters if they're not included in the permissions assigned to you. To see what permissions you need, see the "Shell infrastructure permissions" section in the Exchange and Shell Infrastructure Permissions topic.


Parameter Required Type Description




The Identity parameter specifies the name of the event logging category for which you want to set the event logging level.




The Level parameter specifies the log level for the specific event logging category. The valid values are:

  • Lowest

  • Low

  • Medium

  • High

  • Expert




The Confirm switch causes the command to pause processing and requires you to acknowledge what the command will do before processing continues. You don't have to specify a value with the Confirm switch.




The WhatIf switch instructs the command to simulate the actions that it would take on the object. By using the WhatIf switch, you can view what changes would occur without having to apply any of those changes. You don't have to specify a value with the WhatIf switch.

Input Types

To see the input types that this cmdlet accepts, see Cmdlet Input and Output Types. If the Input Type field for a cmdlet is blank, the cmdlet doesn’t accept input data.

Return Types

To see the return types, which are also known as output types, that this cmdlet accepts, see Cmdlet Input and Output Types. If the Output Type field is blank, the cmdlet doesn’t return data.