Applies to: Exchange Server 2007 SP1, Exchange Server 2007
Topic Last Modified: 2007-08-13

This topic describes how to troubleshoot the Microsoft Exchange System Attendant when it does not start. If the Microsoft Exchange System Attendant does not start, the other Exchange services do not start. To help determine the cause of this problem, you can use the Exchange Management Shell to run diagnostic logging on the Microsoft Exchange System Attendant. By increasing the logging level, Exchange  will generate additional events in the event log which will assist you with determining the root cause of the System Attendant's failure to start.

Before You Begin

To perform the following procedure, the account you use must be delegated membership in the local Administrator group. For more information about permissions, delegating roles, and the rights that are required to administer Exchange 2007, see Permission Considerations.


To use the Exchange Management Shell to change the logging level for the Exchange System Attendant process

  1. Start the Exchange Management Shell.

  2. Type the following command:

    Copy Code
    Set-EventLogLevel -Identity "ServerName\MSExchangeSA\NSPI Proxy" -Level High
    You can increase diagnostic logging for the following subcomponents:


    MSExchangeSA\Clean Mailbox

    MSExchangeSA\NSPI Proxy

    MSExchangeSA\RFR Interface

    MSExchangeSA\OAL Generator

    MSExchangeSA\Proxy Generation

    MSExchangeSA\RPC Calls

    MSExchangeSA\RPC-HTTP Management
    We recommend that you set the logging level back to the default level after you complete your troubleshooting activities.

For More Information

For a list of the Exchange 2007 processes for which logging levels are configurable, see Processes with Configurable Event Logging Levels.

For more information about how to change logging levels for Exchange processes, see How to Change Logging Levels for Exchange Processes.

For more information about the Get-EventLogLevel cmdlet, see Get-EventLogLevel.

For more information about the Set-EventLogLevel cmdlet, see Set-EventLogLevel.