Applies to: Exchange Server 2007
Topic Last Modified: 2007-06-11

Use the Set-AcceptedDomain cmdlet to configure an existing accepted domain in your organization. An accepted domain is any Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) namespace for which an Exchange organization sends and receives e-mail. Accepted domains include those domains for which the Exchange organization is authoritative. An Exchange organization is authoritative when it handles mail delivery for recipients in the accepted domain. Accepted domains also include domains for which the Exchange organization receives mail and then relays to an e-mail server that is outside the Active Directory forest for delivery to the recipient.


Set-AcceptedDomain -Identity <AcceptedDomainIdParameter> [-AddressBookEnabled <$true | $false>] [-DomainController <Fqdn>] [-DomainType <Authoritative | ExternalRelay | InternalRelay>] [-MakeDefault <$true | $false>] [-Name <String>]
Set-AcceptedDomain [-AddressBookEnabled <$true | $false>] [-DomainController <Fqdn>] [-DomainType <Authoritative | ExternalRelay | InternalRelay>] [-Instance <AcceptedDomain>] [-MakeDefault <$true | $false>] [-Name <String>]


Parameter Required Type Description




Use this parameter to specify a string value for the accepted domain. Enter either the GUID or the unique name that you set with the Name parameter of the accepted domain object.




Use this parameter to enable recipient filtering on the Edge Transport server role that accepts mail for this accepted domain. You should set this parameter to $true only if all the recipients in this accepted domain are replicated to the Edge Active Directory Application Mode (ADAM) instance where recipient filtering is run for this accepted domain. The default values for this parameter are as follows:

  • For authoritative domains: $true

  • For internal relay domains: $true

  • For external relay domains: $false




To specify the fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of the domain controller that writes this configuration information from the Active Directory directory service, include the DomainController parameter on the command. The DomainController parameter is not supported on computers that have the Edge Transport server role installed. The Edge Transport server role writes and reads only to the local ADAM instance.




Use this parameter to set the type of accepted domain that you want to configure. Valid values are Authoritative, InternalRelay, and ExternalRelay. You must set at least one value.

In an authoritative domain, messages are delivered to a recipient that has a domain account in your Exchange organization. In an internal relay domain, messages are relayed to a server that is outside your Exchange organization, but still under the authority of your company or IT department. Use the internal relay domain if you want to treat messages to this domain as internal messages. In an external relay domain, messages are relayed to an e-mail server, outside your organization, which you do not control.

The default value is Authoritative.




Use this parameter to pass a whole entire object to the command to be processed. It is mainly used in scripts where an entire object must be passed to the command.




Use this parameter to specify whether the accepted domain is the default domain. The default accepted domain is the domain name that is associated with outbound messages that have encapsulated addresses, such as, for non-Exchange e-mail system interoperability. If you don't have to interoperate with a non-Exchange e-mail system in your organization, you don't have to set this parameter. For the first accepted domain that is created in the organization, the default value is $true. For subsequent accepted domains, the default value is $false.




Use this parameter to create a unique name for a remote domain object.

Detailed Description

To run the Set-AcceptedDomain cmdlet, the account you use must be delegated the following:

  • Exchange Organization Administrator role

For more information about permissions, delegating roles, and the rights that are required to administer Microsoft Exchange Server 2007, see Permission Considerations.


The following example shows how to use the Set-AcceptedDomain cmdlet to configure an accepted domain, Contoso, as the default accepted domain.

Copy Code
Set-AcceptedDomain -Identity Contoso -MakeDefault:$true