Topic Last Modified: 2013-03-22
By default, users’ pictures are automatically displayed. If users want to hide their pictures, they can select the Hide my picture option in the Lync client. However, this setting is ignored by some other Office applications.
If the possibility of displaying pictures even when turned off by the user is a concern, you can change Lync picture display settings globally or for a site or service so that users’ pictures are not shown by default. Use the following Lync Server Management Shell cmdlet so that user’s pictures will not be shown unless they explicitly select the Show my picture option in the client:
Set-CsPrivacyConfiguration -DisplayPublishedPhotoDefault $False
For more information about this cmdlet, see the Set-CsPrivacyConfiguration in the Lync Server Management Shell documentation.