A meeting begins when the first participant of any type joins the conference. A participant can join a conference when the conference is not locked and when the participant can be authenticated, based on the participants Active Directory identity or supplied meeting key. A meeting ends when all participants leave, when a presenter terminates the conference, or when ten minutes have lapsed since the last authenticated participant left the conference. When a conference ends, the conference is deactivated, which means that any remaining participants are ejected and that real-time media stops streaming in the meeting. Then, the meeting state and meeting content are purged at the time the conference expires, as defined when the meeting was scheduled. If a meeting is a recurring meeting, the meeting can be reactivated after the previous instance has been deactivated, if it has not already expired. Any content that was uploaded previously is available when the recurrent meeting starts again.