Applies to: Exchange Server 2007
Topic Last Modified: 2007-06-17

Use the New-AcceptedDomain cmdlet to create a new accepted domain in your organization. An accepted domain is any Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) namespace for which an Exchange organization sends and receives e-mail. Accepted domains include those domains for which the Exchange organization is authoritative. An Exchange organization is authoritative when it handles mail delivery for recipients in the accepted domain. Accepted domains also include domains for which the Exchange organization receives mail and then relays to an e-mail server that is outside the Active Directory forest for delivery to the recipient.

For more information about how to configure an accepted domain, see Set-AcceptedDomain (RTM).


New-AcceptedDomain -Name <String> -DomainName <SmtpDomainWithSubdomains> [-DomainController <Fqdn>] [-DomainType <Authoritative | ExternalRelay | InternalRelay>] [-TemplateInstance <PSObject>]


Parameter Required Type Description




Valid input for the DomainName parameter is an SMTP domain. Enter the SMTP domain that you want to establish as an accepted domain. You can use a wildcard character to specify all subdomains of a given domain, as shown in the following example: *

However, you cannot embed a wildcard character, as shown in the following example: domain.* The domain name string may not contain more than 256 characters.




Use this parameter to create a unique name for the accepted domain object.




To specify the fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of the domain controller that writes this configuration information from the Active Directory directory service, include the DomainController parameter on the command. The DomainController parameter is not supported on computers that have the Edge Transport server role installed. The Edge Transport server role writes and reads only to the Active Directory Application Mode (ADAM) instance.




Use this parameter to set the type of accepted domain that you want to configure. Valid values are Authoritative, InternalRelay, ExternalRelay. You must set at least one value.

In an authoritative domain, messages are delivered to a recipient that has a domain account in your Exchange organization. In an internal relay domain, messages are relayed to a server that is outside your Exchange organization, but still under the authority of your company or IT department. Use the internal relay domain if you want to treat the messages to this domain as internal messages. In an external relay domain, messages are relayed to an e-mail server, outside your organization, which you do not control.

The default value is Authoritative.




When an existing object is supplied to the TemplateInstance parameter, the command uses the configuration of the existing object to create an identical copy of the object on a local or target server.

Detailed Description

To run the New-AcceptedDomain cmdlet, the account you use must be delegated the following:

  • Exchange Organization Administrator role

For more information about permissions, delegating roles, and the rights that are required to administer Microsoft Exchange Server 2007, see Permission Considerations.


The following code example creates a new accepted domain that is named Contoso. For more information about how to set additional configuration options on the accepted domain object, see Set-AcceptedDomain (RTM).

Copy Code
New-AcceptedDomain -DomainName -Name Contoso