Applies to: Exchange Server 2007
Topic Last Modified: 2007-06-15
Mail users are mail-enabled Active Directory directory service user accounts that contain information about people who exist outside your Exchange organization.
Mail users are similar to mail contacts—both have external e-mail addresses and contain information about people outside the Exchange organization. The main difference is mail users have security contexts that can be used to log on to the Active Directory domain and access resources to which they have been granted permission. For example, you may want to create mail users for short-term consultants who need access to your server infrastructure but will use their own external e-mail addresses.
When you select Mail Contact under Recipient Configuration, the result pane displays a list of all mail-enabled contacts and users in your Exchange organization. For more information about the Mail Contact node, see Recipient Configuration > Mail Contact (RTM).
|To modify how recipient configuration objects are displayed in Microsoft Management Console (MMC), click View in the action pane. For more information about view options, see Recipient Configuration (RTM).|
To focus on a set of mail users that have specific attributes, you can use a variety of expressions to filter the list. For more information about filters, see How to Filter the Result Pane.
When you select a mail user in the result pane, the following actions are available either by right-clicking the mail user name or by using the action pane.
|If you select multiple recipients in the result pane, the following actions will be available only if your selection contains a single recipient type. If you do not see any actions available, it is an indication that your selection contains both mail contacts and mail users.|
Click Disable to remove all mail attributes from the Active Directory user account. The user account will no longer be mail-enabled, but it will remain in Active Directory.
Click Remove to remove the user from Active Directory.
Important: When you remove a mail user, not only is the mail configuration deleted, but the associated user account in Active Directory is deleted as well.
Click Properties to view or change the settings for the selected mail user.
Note: This action is not displayed if more than one mail user is selected in the result pane.