Topic Last Modified: 2011-01-24
Chat rooms cannot be deleted. If you have a chat room that is no longer being used, you can disable it. For details, see Disabling or Enabling a Chat Room.
If you want to remove permanently deactivated channels from your main category structure, you can create a new category whose sole purpose is to contain them.
Categories can be deleted, but only if they do not have any chat rooms or subcategories nested under them. Before you delete a category, you must move all nested chat rooms and subcategories to a new parent category. For details, see Moving a Chat Room or Category.
To delete an empty category
Click Start, point to All Programs, point to Microsoft Lync Server 2010, and then click Microsoft Lync Server 2010, Group Chat Admin Tool.
In the Chat Rooms list, right-click the category to delete, and then click Delete.