Applies to: Exchange Server 2007 SP3, Exchange Server 2007 SP2, Exchange Server 2007 SP1, Exchange Server 2007
Topic Last Modified: 2006-09-20

You can classify your Microsoft Exchange organization in the following three ways:

Logical topology

A logical topology refers to the Active Directory directory service forest structure. For more information about logical topologies, see Logical Topologies.

Physical topology

The physical topology refers to the physical sites and computers in your Exchange organization. For more information about physical topologies, see Physical Topologies.

Exchange organization topology

The Exchange organization topology refers to the Exchange server roles and how you position them within the physical and logical topologies. Your Exchange organization should fit into one of the following predefined Exchange organization topologies:

  • Simple Exchange organization

  • Standard Exchange organization

  • Large Exchange organization

  • Complex Exchange organization

For more information about Exchange topologies, see the following topics:

Examples of Exchange Organization Topologies

The following figures show examples of the four predefined Exchange organization topologies.

Simple Exchange Organization Topology

Simple Exchange Organization Topology

Standard Exchange Organization Topology

Large Exchange Organization Topology

Complex Exchange Organization with Resource Forest

Complex Exchange Organization with Multiple Forest

Figure 6   Complex Exchange organization with multiple Exchange forests
Figure 5   Complex Exchange organization with an Exchange resource forest
Figure 4   Large Exchange organization
Figure 3   Standard Exchange organization
Figure 2   Simple Exchange organization with multiple servers
Figure 1   Simple Exchange organization with a single server