Applies to: Exchange Server 2007 SP3, Exchange Server
2007 SP2, Exchange Server 2007 SP1
Topic Last Modified: 2007-06-14
Managed content settings are applied to the managed folders in users' mailboxes to control the retention and journaling of messages for messaging records management (MRM). Managed content settings define when messages that are no longer needed are to be removed or journaled (copied) to a separate storage location outside the mailbox.
By applying managed content settings to managed folders, you can control the contents in ways that are not possible with folders that do not have managed content settings. For example, the managed content settings that you apply to a user's Inbox folder could specify that its contents should be automatically deleted or moved to another folder after 60 days. For more information about managed folders and managed content settings, see Managing Messaging Records Management.
It is important that you use the managed default folder named Entire Mailbox with caution. Managed content settings that are applied to Entire Mailbox control every folder in the mailbox except:
- Managed custom folders (and their subfolders)
- Managed default folders (and their subfolders)
A managed default folder is a default folder in the mailbox (such as the Inbox, Calendar, or Contacts) that is linked to a managed folder mailbox policy. If a default folder in the mailbox is not linked to a managed folder mailbox policy, the entire mailbox policy will apply to that default folder.
You can also use the Exchange Management Shell to view, modify, create, and remove managed content settings. For more information, see the following topics:
|You can configure additional settings for a managed folder (for example, setting storage limits and adding comments to be viewed by users) in the managed folder's property page or by using the Set-ManagedFolder cmdlet. For more information, see Set-ManagedFolder.|
When you select a managed content setting in the result pane, the following actions are available either by right-clicking the setting name or by using the action pane.
Click Remove to remove the managed content setting from the managed folder.
Click Properties to view or modify the managed content setting.
For More Information
For more information about MRM, see Managing Messaging Records Management.